Are you addicted to electronic tuners?

FretFiend.

• Members

I just discovered that I am.

I grabbed my guitar last evening to play, and out of habit, I grabbed the Snark.

Then it occurred to me that when I started playing many moons ago, I hit an E on the piano, or a pitch pipe, or I just made a wild ass guess, and tuned the first and sixth strings to that. I then tuned the rest of the strings using the old fifth and fourth fret method. It had been a while since I had tried tuning up that way.

I tuned the sixth with the Snark, and tried tuning the others to that, checking myself with the Snark. On the first try, I missed each of the other strings by a few cents. After a few more tries, I could get them almost dead on... by ear. I hadn't done that in a long time.

Just wondering if most players here rely on an electronic tuner.

• Members

Cripes, there's an entire generation (or so) of players who are unable to tune a guitar by ear!

As I'm fond of saying: " A tuner will get you into the ballpark, but you still have to be able to find your seats".

For ear tuning--when possible, sometimes it just isn't--I like the 12thfret harmonic/7th fret note method, which works on a guitar with good intonation.
(8th fret, B string). This seems to induce a sort of real-world tempering to the tuning process.

• Members

I never use an electronic tuner on my acoustics. I use a tuning fork and touch it against the top just south of the bridge. Then I use harmonics at the 5th & 7th frets to get close. Then I use the old-fashioned 5th and 4th fret thing to fine tune.

I spend alot of time in double drop D - so to return the high & low E to D I just hit the middle D string and tune each an octave higher or lower.

:idk: Works for me.

• Members