Cheap guitars under $100?

samal50

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I have no experience with Rondo or Hadean, but with a budget of 100 you're not going to get too much.

that being said, the low end guitars of today are worlds better than the low budget stuff that was available when I started out in the mid 70's.

I picked up a GC special epi les paul junior a few months ago while I was killing some time there & it seemed pretty good for the 100 or so they were asking...

• Members

EBay or Craig's list is probably the best list. If they can come up closer to $180 an Affinity Tele is a good buy for a new guitar but even then you can buy twice the guitar from an auction site. Its just not fast and easy. You have to roll daily and have the money ready to catch them when a good deal comes up. .

• Members

No idea where you are but the St. Louis CraigsList has a bunch of Squier and no-name Strats under $100. One low-end Kramer that might make someone a good first guitar. As Chordite said, it would help to know what style of music. You might find something at a pawn shop. That's where I found my Schecter. I wouldn't buy from eBay at that price, no chance to play it first. If you're handy fixing up guitars it could be an option.

• Members

As mentioned, a used guitar would be your best bet. A number of years ago I bought a used Jay Turser goldtop Les Paul-style guitar on Craig's List for $80 to use as a backup/beater guitar. I really liked the way it played and eventually wound up upgrading the pickups and hardware and its become one of my favorite guitars and I play it a lot even though I have a Gibson Les Paul, Fenders, and others. I think Jay Turser makes some very nice guitars for the money in the budget line.

• Members
  • Members
for $200 you can get a squier cv/c and they are just as good as a $2000 custom shop tele.

(in every way-pickups, wood, fit, finish, pots, wiring, tuners, weight, frets, etc)

so, theres that