Don't post in this forum if you play for free

Chordptrn

• Replies 160
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Look, I'm all about getting paid, and I agree that lowballers and freegiggers make things worse, but I don't think that you should be wagging that finger, young man. :cop::lol:

Plenty of different types of musicians to go around, and I want to hear what they have to say. And "Backstage With The Band" doesn't mean "Backstage With Full Time Professional Musicians." There are a handful of former pros here that have a plenty to contribute here. And there are some damn good 'part timers' that are fine musicians, that have plenty to say too.

• Members

I've been gigging for the past 25 years. 99,5 % of all my gigs were paid gigs - I only had to pay once for my own drinks.

We traditionally do 1 free gig per year - always some kind of fund-raiser (Alzheimer foundation, MS-foundation, - you get the gist) but that's where it stops. Our biggest competitiors aren't other bands - our main competion are DJ's (although I DJ myself sometimes . . . .)

• Members

It all goes towards the percieved value of your service.

For example if you put something like an older TV out in front of your house with a FREE sign on it, chances are no one will want it and you will end up taking it to the dump. However if you put a sign on it that says $20 people will then see a real bargain (A working TV for $20) and the product will move.

Don't forget about the percieved value of something that is being offered for free.

Max

• Members

But more likely, those promoters/venues will just start going with bands that are worse than you, who think that one day they'll be worth the promoters/venues' money! See the cycle there?