What's the guitar you wanted when you first started playing guitar?

honeyiscool

• Members

You know that instrument that made you :love: :love: :love:

And did you ever get that guitar? What was it like?

This was it for me:

63559_l.jpg

Candy Apple Red Jazzmaster. I was obsessed with Jazzmasters for the longest time. I didn't even play guitar, but I would research Jazzmasters. I knew about the jumping saddle slots, buzz stops, Mustang bridges, even before I could play a single A chord.

After I started playing guitar, that obsession became Candy Apple Red Jaguars instead. I assumed it was a small, comfortable guitar with a big sound. When I finally got one, I was like, what the hell... yeah, I kept the Mustangs.

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

i wanted a strat and a LP when i was 14; didn't care what brand. My mom is a music teacher, and gets music supply catalogs all the time. I remember seeing Lotus guitars, that were cheap, and i wanted one. Ended up guitar a mexican strat in high school. The Wayne's World 2 limited edition strat. Didn't like it. Traded it in on a crap Cruise LP copy.

Now i have a gibson LP and an american strat. Call me generic

• Members

At the time I first started (this time last year) the top 2 bands I was listening to played PRS, both singlecut and the signature PRS style. So I wanted one of those. I ended up with a Tele, which I liked it but still wanted something for the heavier sound, so I got a MK LP style...and now I rarely play it, and always play the Tele. Maybe when I get older and get a "real" PRS and better amp I could get the sound I was looking for, but so far humbuckers sound too aggressive to me. I prefer making the guitar aggressive with amps and such. :o

Edit: Now that I think about it, when I made my first thread here one of the things I said was basically "I don't want a Telecaster or Stratocaster, they look too plain." ...:lol:

• Members