I'm old enough to remember when no one wanted these (Vintage Fender content)

headless

• Members

I was born too late in life. I ALWAYS wanted stuff like that. But I was only 12 years old when that guitar was made. By the time I started playing guitar and had enough money after paying my student loans off out of college...the "vintage guitar craze" was already peaking (around the early 90's)

Good vintage guitars were always just out of reach. I remember a 1959 Les Paul for sale at Mandolin Brothers in Staten Island NY in 1991 for sale for $20,000.

I had $10,000 in the bank at the time just out of college. I seriously thought about borrowing money to buy it....Now they cost $350,000 or whatever. But back then, $20,000 might as well have been $350,000.

But I guess on the bright side, NEW gear is really cheap for the quality you get.

• Members

I had $10,000 in the bank at the time just out of college. I seriously thought about borrowing money to buy it....Now they cost $350,000 or whatever. But back then, $20,000 might as well have been $350,000.

But I guess on the bright side, NEW gear is really cheap for the quality you get.

It seems to me that a lot of people forget this. My father bought his house in 1970 for about $30K, and now it's worth around $350K. I also remember when I started playing in the late 1980s, there were plenty of used guitars in the $200 range, but most guits under $150 were pretty sketchy or needed work. And $200 had a lot more buying power 20 years ago.

• Members

hehehe. how badly are you kicking yourself about that one?

...i'm still pissed that i didn't get in on Google stock when it was freshly opened at around 150 bucks JUST A FEW YEARS AGO because it was too expensive! :facepalm: what an asshole i am. :lol:

• Members

I was born too late in life. I ALWAYS wanted stuff like that. But I was only 12 years old when that guitar was made.