So I tried to play with a slide..

twotimingpete

• Members

Slide stops directly over the fret...not in between where you press your finger down.

This made me chuckle a little bit because I thought it must be "common sense" - but I was a bass player by trade; upright, electric, and fretless electric, so that always made sense to me. I had to step back to see that guitar players just don't think that way in general. :D

• Members

Oddly enough I just practiced slide guitar for the first time in a long while tonight. I have messed with it here and there. My favorite slide is Ernie Ball's metal pinky slide. Its a bit harsh sounding compared to the glass slides but I think it offers the best versatility. I like to play in standard tuning and play normally but have it handy for solos or a certain sound. Open tuning is fun but I just feel really limited while I play it. It is really fun and everything sounds good, but I can't play and solo like I can in standard tuning. Now, in standard tuning I am still not that great, but I am more familiar with scales and such. Just mess around with it, that is all you can do. Another fun thing I like to do is to tune down the 1st string to D and then use my slide (pinky slide mostly) on the bottom few strings and then play normally with my fingers on the rest. Its kind of a middle ground between standard tuning and open tuning.

• Members

Palm muting

Raised action (giraffe balls high action)

Alternate tunings

Practice

Experimenting with different slides (way harder than finding the right pick)

1/5 ...try harder ,

Muting behind the slide not so much palm .

Light touch instead of high action .

Standard tuning is fine for slide if you don't want to go open tunings(but they are fun too)

The type of slide doesn't really affect technique..just sound

• Members

practice touch on normal action,

play with fingers so you can mute easily with the free fingers on the picking hand,