Why do most acoustics not have cutaways?

Joeballz

• Members

Im new with acoustics and the guitar in general. Can someone explain to me why most acoustic do not have cutaways. Im aware that there are a decent amount that do have cutaways but it seems like most of them dont. What is the reasoning for this? I went to guitar center and played a bunch of different acoustics, i dont know if im crazy but on acoustics without cutaways it seems impossible to play the higher frets. Im new here so try not to give me to much crap lol. Thanks for reading!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

You can make an argument that cutaways have a negative impact on the unplugged sound of a guitar. A cutaway takes away a piece of the guitar (and thus a "piece" of air inside the guitar) that could potentially be vibrating and producing tone. That's the theory, anyway. You'd have to have a really good ear to notice the difference between a guitar with a cutaway and the same guitar without one.

I suppose you could also argue that cutaways are designed to cater to electric players who like having access to the upper frets, which is why they show up so often on acoustic-electrics. If an electric player buys an acoustic, it's usually going to be something they can plug in.

So really, the short answer to your question is, "I don't know :idk:."

:facepalm:

• Members

How much upper fret access do you think you need? If you're spending too much time above the 12th fret, get a whammy and a Marshall stack. :rawk::lol: