Why did this forum become comatose?

niceguy

• Members

I've been posting here since 2001, and for a good many years, this was my home on the internet. I learned so much about gear... It was like walking into a guitar shop, pulling a guitar off the wall, and sitting around the amps with old-timers and experts and just strumming and learning and talking. I loved it.

Then, the format changes began. Passwords were changed, usernames were lost. I drifted away. And every time I came back, there was less and less activity on the forum.

This is the longest I've been away-- perhaps a few years now. I recognize some of the usernames, and I'm happy there's still a community here, but what happened? It's like this forum is 5% as active as it used to be.

Do people just spend all their time on reddit now? I'd rather talk guitars with guitarists rather than oooh and ahhh over freaking cat pictures all day at reddit.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Ratae: This is absolutely true. While there shows a dip in reporting for the middle of March (Google Analytics are about 45 days behind), it is now showing a complete turn around.

We also have about 50K links in google that were pointing folks to no where. We are working through all them in re-routes and it is starting to turn the graph around. D

• Members

Its still got some "Major" Glitches. You have threads that lock themselves and you cant post, Long delays posting, No response when posting so you try it again and get a double post, and some things like posting photos isn't reliable. Add to that a good 90% of the regular posters have bailed some are still here.