15 quality checks when buying a new acoustic guitar

Portland Guitar

• Members

Hello Everyone, I'm a luthier who writes informational articles about guitars using what I've learned while building. I wrote an article detailing 15 components related to musicality, playability and quality of an acoustic guitar. I aimed this as a guide to explain to someone looking to buy a new guitar what to look for. There's a lot of text, too much for this post. So here is the list below and you can check out more here acoustic guitar buying guide intermediate

The list that I go through is

Top quality , back and sides quality, tuning ease, bridge pin ease, fretboard buzz, fretboard dead spots, neck shape preference, action preference, measuring stiffness of the top and back, mass consideration, evenness of finish, craftsmanship details, intonation quality, pickup quality.

My list is by no means exhaustive and there are many things I missed or could explain in more depth or with more clarity.

• Members

I have to admit that I also just need to play and hear a guitar to know if the builder managed to avoid problems in any of the major areas. 

It's cool to isolate and focus on all of those variables if you're building them, but as I'm sure you know that doesn't guarantee a "greater than the sum of the parts" like you get when they're all great.

• Members

Same here regarding playing versus walking through a pre-flight checklist, but in defense of it I'd call the checklist a good idea for people not so experienced in sound and playability. Going in as a greeny so many years ago a checklist would probably have been useful to me. These days I can pluck the strings while the guitar hangs on the wall to know whether it's a candidate or not for sampling. As a matter of fact, that method has saved Gibson's product line from suffering my DNA for years.

• 2 weeks later...
  • Members