Light Tremolo Springs??

ksl

• Members

Hey all~ Aside from the the Raw Vintage trem springs, which I have no experience with, are there any springs that are truly lighter than the stock ones? It's not a matter of simply using less springs as my 2 springs almost become unhinged as I whammy back(sharp), and I need to create more stretch with less pull. One spring's not enough & 2's too much,  and I like my block resting in the middle position. This is my 1st DIY, & everything is a first, but this situation is my only stumbling block. 🤔

Thanks 

🕉

• Members

Wait a minute ,it seems to me that the spring tension needs to be equal to the string tension, I'm not an expert in physics who can discuss leverage and fulcrums and mechanical advantage ,but at the end of the equation there needs to be balance.  Balance is required to keep the trem centered . To think that this balance is so radically different on your strat than on every other strat on the planet makes me suspect that you are doing something  illogical 

Pics would help and maybe even prove me wrong

• Members
1 hour ago, gardo said:

Wait a minute ,it seems to me that the spring tension needs to be equal to the string tension, I'm not an expert in physics who can discuss leverage and fulcrums and mechanical advantage ,but at the end of the equation there needs to be balance.  Balance is required to keep the trem centered . To think that this balance is so radically different on your strat than on every other strat on the planet makes me suspect that you are doing something  illogical 

Pics would help and maybe even prove me wrong

You're right. It has to be balanced.

His issue is with the spring stiffness and the amount of travel. A lower spring constant will require more stretch to delivery a given amount of force.  The more spring is stretched to keep the bar at equilibribriim, the more range the trek will have when he pulls up on the bar before bottoming out.