Hydro-dipping the ENTIRE instrument (including fretboard)

KevinTJH

• Members

I'm looking at picking up a DIY kit from Pitbull Guitars and then hydro dipping the entire thing. I've never done this before (go easy on my ignorance!) so I'm hoping to get some advice from the more experienced folks.

Something like this:

First of all, I'm going to pre-face this thread by mentioning that this is strictly for my own fun so it's more about aesthetics than actual quality tone. Out of curiosity, how much does painting the fretboard affect the overall tone?

Rather than masking off the fretboard, I figured it might be interesting to hydro dip the rosewood fretboard as well. The darker coloured wood may separate itself a little more from the rest of the guitar, which might look cool. This means that primer will also have to be sprayed over the fretboard.

Please tell me what your thoughts are on me following this process (I've included links to specific products in case they're not suitable):

1. Spraying an 1-2 layers of Undercoat paint on the entire instrument including the fretboard: (https://www.bunnings.com.au/british-paints-310g-spray-easy-gloss-cherry-red_p1580878 OR https://www.bunnings.com.au/british-paints-310g-spray-easy-universal-primer_p1580873)
  2. Hydro dipping with Acrylic Paints. Though the entire guitar will be submerged in water so not sure how that will turn out. I'm assuming it would take over a week to fully dry?
  3. Spraying Polyeurathane over the whole instrument, sanding in between coats - How many cans will I need? (https://www.bunnings.com.au/cabot-s-300g-gloss-exterior-clear-spraypack_p1520270)
  4. Wetsanding to 1200-1500 grit
  5. Sanding metal frets to remove finish
  6. Hand-rubbing in some guitar polish

If you guys think this could work then I'll get started right away. Any input on this project would be much appreciated!