Alternate picking frustration

Santuzzo

• Members

I have been working so hard on my alternate picking, trying to speed it up, and I am by no means a beginner, been playing guitar for about 20 years now.

But still I am far from shred speed-wise.....with me the picking speed seems to improve extremely slowly....for me it takes forever to get just a tiny little increase in speed.

And what's frustrating me the most is for instance: right now I'm practicing pentatonic patterns as cross stirng picking exercises (like the exercises from Stetina's Speed Machanic's book), and like on some days I get them up to a certain speed and only the very next day my to speed is 10 BPM less. I do understand I'm not a machine, and I cna't be so consistent, but 10 BPM is quite a difference, isn't it?! I just gets me so frustrated......:mad:

Anybody else have this?

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm always struggling with my picking. I'll typically work on something for 3-4 weeks and then hit the point of diminishing returns. I try and rotate what I work on technique-wise on a nearly monthly basis and I seem to make better progress overall...

The best thing for me has been not exclusively doing exercises but picking a piece of music that utilizes a technique and beating that into the ground from super slow tempos to (gradually increasing) quicker ones....

• Members

Have you had a really close examination of your technique? Something I was doing was - I thought I was alternating properly. Upon closer examination my picking stroke was not always up and down. As I moved across the strings I was attacking each new string on a down stroke. I got pretty fast at it! So fast I never noticed. Since then I have cleaned it up and am much faster for it.

Another HUGE help to me has been Frank Gambales DVD Chopbuilders. That has increased my speed and control very rapidly.