George L's suck!

Vargus

• Members

Ever since getting these things all i've had is problems. I have rewired them dozens of times but they will eventually crack and cut out no matter what. What are some other cables that will keep my tone and be quiet? I need something reliable, and George L's haven't been cutting it.

• Members

my impression as well. ive been using them for about 3 or 4 years and have had zero problems.
:)

either its user error or youre just really, really unlucky.

+1

I use them for more than 3 years now and never had problems with them.

I got a friend who tried the lava ones and he is quite pleased with them too.

• Members

I don't really trust George L's myself. Sure, you don't have to solder, but what happens when the connection starts to corrode or oxidize? If you've made a clean solder joint, the electrical connection is not going to be in danger of weakening due to corrosion (since oxidation can't occur inside the joint as it could in a non-soldered connection, unless the whole thing is made of gold).

i dunno, if you can solder, I would just make cables out of neutrik jacks and cables which you can get from Redco for reasonable prices.

• Members

solderless cables are nice because of ease of use, not because of durability. it goes without saying that a solderless attachment isn't going to be ultra-durable. your issue has a lot more to do with the attachment of cable-plug than it does the cable itself.

if you constantly plug-in and unplug your pedals then solderless probably isn't for you. i haven't had any issue at all with my Lava kit, but i didn't wire it up until i was sure about my pedal layout...so i've probably only tinkered with the cables a handful of times over the course of months. i'm pretty sure that's what both Lava and George L are meant for anyway...making custom length cables for finished boards.

I don't think solderless cables are automatically "bad", but you do have to make them correctly.