Anyone hear switched from playing heavy metal to acoustic?

poderoso

• Members

Im at work and I got nothing to do.

I started playing guitar when I was 12. I started with nu metal(early 2000's) and then switched to alternative(incubus) to all sorts of metal(from pantera to lamb of god). That was during my teen years. Im 22 now and I barely use my electric guitar.

Ive been playing A LOT of acoustic songs lately. Jason Mraz, John Mayer, and even acoustic renditions of certain rock songs. I just love how simple yet complex one man and a guitar can accomplish. I think its amazing.

Anyone else made the switch? c'mon lets make this a long thread I have an hour to kill!

• Members

wow does that somewhat work like the eBow?

never heard of tommy emmanuel.

I still listen to heavy music. but lately ive been getting into acoustic tracks of pop/alternative bands like hellogoodbye and parachute. And i also love how boyce avenue arranges their tracks. Just one guitar, one strum of a chord that rings forever. I feel like im just mummbling some random stuff but i'll listen to some tommy emmanuel!

• Members
Nope, not me. I have always played acoustic guitar. That is what I started on as a kid. I do play electric as well (in a couple of bands) but when it comes to guitar the acoustic will always be with me. It's good to hear you are now enjoying acoustic music and playing it though.
:thu:

wow thanks. I always enjoyed the acoustic guitar. In fact my first guitar was an acoustic but I always tried to play smoke on the water on it. haha. But there was a phase when I felt like I would never need an acoustic guitar.

• Members

There was a thread over at the Dark Side asking why acoustics sound good played solo but electrics seem to want some other instruments around

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?2867619-Why-do-Acoustic-guitars-sound-great-alone-but-Electrics-dont