To What Extent Have You Acoustically Treated Your Studio?

Anderton

• Members

Well i actually ran down a half dozen rigid 403 fiberglass panels, covered them in some cloth and place them differently depending on what/where Im tracking- or if im mixing.

The reduction in flutter echos from my monitors during mixing was a big deal.

• Members

I put quite a bit of time and effort into making my room sound great. Since I'm a pro, too, I should have voted like Phil did. My room is mainly for mixing, so it was pretty easy to make it sound great. Isolating myself from the outside world would have been more difficult, more expensive, and would have eaten up too much physical space, so I didn't really do that.

Steve

• Members

I went simple: I carpetted the walls of my studio. It was cheap, easy to attach to the wall with my staple gun, and it isolates me from outside noises somewhat. It ain't the best solution but it works okay & it doesn't look too bad.

Pro, no offense, but I think that might have been a mistake. :( Carpet is good at absorbing high frequencies, but won't do a thing for low frequencies, nor is it good for significant isolation. The biggest issue is that you're absorbing the high frequencies, but are doing nothing for the (acoustically more troubling / difficult to deal with) low frequencies. IMO, if you're going to carpet the walls, you at least need to get some compressed fiberglass corner bass traps in there to help balance out the frequencies you're absorbing. With just carpet as acoustical treatment, the room is going to be over absorbed in the highs and uncontrolled in the lows, resulting in a difficult room to work in, and mixes that won't "translate" well to other playback systems. Chances are, due to the room treatment you have, your mixes are overly bright...

Let me know if you need some links to some sites that have DIY plans for such absorbers. :)

• Moderators