Will a 2 or 4X12 cab make my combo louder?

Faber

• Members

Stupid question I suppose but I have very little experience running extention cabinets with combos so I don't know how great a difference it will make, if any.

I have a Soldano Atomic 16 20w 1X12 combo. Fine classic rock crunch sounds out of this thing but it's JUST shy of being able to hang with the band volume wise. Now, I love the sound when I get to push the power stage (volume at 7, master at 9-12), so ideally I'd perfer if I could make this amp a little louder rather than finding another higher wattage amp that I then can't run as hard. Will an extention cab help me get there?

• Replies 134
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

No, it will not and if you try hook any old 4x12 up to a 1x12 combo the Ohms will likely be wrong and you can kill your amp quite easily if you don't know what you're doing.

20watts powering a 4x12 is a bit silly anyways, you'd want at least 50 minimum as a 4x12 at 20watts is overkill IMO.

A 2x12 would be better suited. Just make sure you check the ohms of the current speaker and make sure you keep the new speakers at that ohms, total.

• Members

Running your amp through a 2x12 or 4x12 will make your amp appear to be louder, but the bigger rewards will be tonal, not volume.

Oh, and there's nothing wrong with plugging your 15-watt combo or head into a 4x12 cabinet as long as you have the ohms matched up. A huge advantage is that you can crank the master volume without killing everyone's eardrums.

The Mesa-Boogie TransAtlantic sounds killer through a 4x12.

• Members