Obsession with tone...paralysis by analysis

ashasha

• Members

I'm one of those guys that needs to have a good tone in order to play or else I just freeze up. I had thought for a long time that it was because I was inspired by the tone and feel of the gear I was using and that kind of made sense to me. I don't have a lot of creative ideas flowing in me that I need to get out most of the time; I'm more of a complimentary/reactionary player in that I need something to get me going.

But I was thinking about this some more recently and another discussion on another board got me thinking about my approach in general. In the real world my job is to design and maintain systems of all sorts, but my specialty is audio studios (even though I've been teaching for a few years now). So in that world I don't do any of the product creation, I just make sure that every thing is working properly. If something doesn't sound right I spring into action and I tend to get extremely tunnel visioned and border on obsessed.

It's great for work, but I am wondering if that mentallity isn't part of what creates this invisible barrier between what I consider to be good tone and crap. I mean the first thing I do when the sound isn't there is start thinking about how to get there and I end up putting the guitar down and start digging into whatever it is that I'm plugged into or start looking for pickups or something for the guitar.

So I am just wondering how many other tech based people on here have similar issues.