Does Changing Pickup / Pickup Height Makes A Huige Difference In Tone?

Jimmy25

• Members

Does changing pickup make a huge difference in tone? I learned that it won't sound much different at all unless you're using a very decent big amp? I was originally planning on changing the pickup, but since I'm using a small Roland Micro Cube Amp most of the time for practicing (unless sometimes performing on stage or in a practice room where they have good quality big amp, which doesn't happen so often), I don't see the point of spending money to switch my Stractocaster's original pickups, esp when I'm on a limited budget. How about playing around with the pickup height and stuffs, can that make a huge if not huge quite noticable change in tone? I've never done this before, if I'm planning on turning the screws of my pickups the get a better tone I wanted, is there anything I need to watch out for? Or I can just turn it any way I want till I get the tone? And how do I know turning which way gives me what tone? Also, how do I make sure they have equal volume?

• Members

Start with the pickups at the normal height, then:

1) use your tone controls

2) raise / lower one side of the pickup a little or adjust the polepieces in the centre (ignore second part for Strat)

3) try playing a bunch of different guitars at the store

4) decide what sound you like and order a similarly voiced replacement pickup / trade your guitar

5) repeat for the next 30 years

Seriously though, have your guitar teacher look at it or take it in to a good guitar tech for a setup. If you don't like any of the pickups in your Strat you may be a humbucker guy. Ironically, if you had another guitar you'd probably find yourself liking the Strat alot more for what it offers.

• Members

Pickup height CAN make a major difference!