Rickenbacker guitars

Kramerguy

• Members

yeah, I know this isn't the git forum, but I don't know most of the folks there, but I was wondering...

I've never seen a local player using them, nor have I ever seen one for sale in a music store, outside of finding one once at a pawn shop, and it was destroyed IMO.

So what's up with them? Why are they so seemingly rare? Why don't more local guitar players use them?

I play a lot of clean tones these days and thought a Rik would be an awesome addition to my collection (although I can't afford one heh)

• Members

I've owned a bunch of Rics. They are actually pretty good. Since I'm a bassist I have used their 5 strings. They absolutely suck. So much so that they pulled them off the market while they re-design them. That was 3 or 4 years ago. I had some converted 5 strings but I had an order that was in their system for 9 months that got pulled when they decided they needed to do the re-design. They didn't even have the courtesy to let me know. I happened to call to check on the status and they told me my order was cancelled a month earlier. They never even sent back my deposit until I pressed them for it. John Hall (Ric's owner) is a douchebag. He thinks he is God's gift to musicians. Rickenbackers used to be great instruments now they are having reliability and QA/QC problems. I'll still probably pick up a five string if they decide to start selling them again because they are cool looking. They just never sounded as good as my Warwick does. I wouldn't have known about Warwick if Ric didn't pull their five strings so I guess I do owe them that.

• Members

I'll echo the above--smaller company, so not as many made. US-made, so more expensive than some other brands. Combine the price with the relatively low availability, they seem to get snapped up pretty quick. I've only seen one or two in stores that I can recall. I don't even know of any brick-and-mortar Ric dealers.