Starting over again, again

Freeman Keller

• Members

I started playing around with the guitar in the '60's while I was in college. Not really sure why - I don't come from a musical background and I don't sing. That was the early days of rock and roll but I mostly listened to folkie stuff - protest songs, some blues. Dylan, Baez, Seeger, the Allmans, Butterfield, Cream, the Dead. Someone showed me three chords (and the truth) and I could strum along with a lot of the music of the day. C, F, and G or G, C and D - good old I, IV and V. With a capo I could play in any key, but since I don't play with others there wasn't much need to.

Long about then I heard Ry Cooder and Bonnie Raitte and John Hurt and the Rev and RJ and learned about the 7th chord (didn't realize it was the flatted 7th until just recently). Started playing 8 and 12 bar blues, mostly in E and A but now with that added blue note. Started finger picking - discovered that I could play a recognizable song all by myself - the bass line, some rhythm and a nice little lead. Maybe not very good but at least you could tell is was Blackbird or Tears in Heaven or Anji or Deep River Blues.

Then I discovered John Fahey and Leo Kottke and have been hopelessly lost and frustrated for the past 40 years. Got a slide. Learning new tunings and trying to play impossible songs, struggling with each one.

The interesting thing is up until that point I really don't know that much about music. Its kind of ironic - I'm a scientist and engineer by training and music theory is just mathematics - but it was so easy to just learn some tab - maybe I was just lazy.