How do I get a natural candy apple red finish?

KevinTJH

• Members

I'm very new to guitar finishing and I'm currently working on a guitar project. The only experience I have is spraying 10 layers of nitro (3 sanding sessions in between) on a maple neck and I've been pretty happy with the results.

Right now, I'm working with bare, unfinished mahogany with no sealer yet.

I'm thinking of just staining the wood with a red stain. I want to achieve the Gibson SG Special cherry satin finish where you can see and feel the wood grain, but Candy Apple Red instead. The body and the neck are both mahogany but are slightly different in colour tone though.

I've got a full spray can on nitro lacquer so I'd like to make use of that too if possible.

Could someone run me through the steps? Recommend any products if necessary.

Thanks in advance!

I'm very new to guitar finishing and I'm currently working on a guitar project. The only experience I have is spraying 10 layers of nitro (3 sanding sessions in between) on a maple neck and I've been pretty happy with the results.

Right now, I'm working with bare, unfinished mahogany with no sealer yet.

I'm thinking of just staining the wood with a red stain. I want to achieve the Gibson SG Special cherry satin finish where you can see and feel the wood grain, but Candy Apple Red instead. The body and the neck are both mahogany but are slightly different in colour tone though.

I've got a full spray can on nitro lacquer so I'd like to make use of that too if possible.

Could someone run me through the steps? Recommend any products if necessary.

Thanks in advance!

You can use a translucent finish to show grain through the finish, but I don't think you can do that with a candy finish.

Allow me to explain what I mean...