How risky is running a tube amp without a ground?

ambient

• Members

Specifically a new VHT special 6 ultra in Japan where most of the outlets look like this:

DSC_0356.jpg

The amp came with a standard US-style IEC lead but they put and adapter on the end like this:

DSC_0355.jpg

I had to run the power from our balcony where the outlet for the washing machine air con and water heater is, but that's not really ideal.

Also if I wanna take it anywhere else it's very rare that they have grounded plugs inside.

Am I gonna die?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

you-gonna-get-raped.jpg
by electricity.

Really, though, if Japan doesn't usually have its electrical appliances/goodies grounded and you haven't been shocked yet, I don't see why this amp would be an exception. I am not an expert.

I'd like to think that but there's tons of horror stories about people being shocked by ungrounded amps.

Just the other day at a practice studio, there was a SF fender twin plugged in with a 2-prong cord. When I turned it on I felt a tingling in my fingers when I touched the control panel.

I turned it straight off and plugged in to the solid state marshall instead.

What I wanna know: is it vintage amps that are the most dangerous due to the possibility of malfunction, or is it something inherent to all tube amps but not solid state?

Why are they supposed to be so dangerous?

• Members

How could such a tech advanced country have ungrounded outlets???

Yes, this country produces some of the worlds most sophisticated technology but the average person probably knows less about it than most western countries.

Many households don't have computers and if they do, barely know how to setup/maintain them.

• Members

Favorite part is singing background vocals into SM58; lips touch mic screen, flash of light, loud buzz, what the {censored} happened?