Zager (yes, this post is different)

Maximum

• Members

I recognize that picking this topic as my first post might be foolhardy, but I am in an unusual position to make an unbiased, possibly helpful, offer/proposal/request, and my timing pretty much requires that I jump in right now.

First, my story:

I have a late 1980's Goya/Martin (made in Korea), and a 10-year old La Patrie Etude. I have been playing for years, though I appear to be permanently stuck in that intermediate skill level where talentless non-dilligent folks like myself seem to plateau. Anyhow, I wanted to upgrade my steel string, and started looking around, testing some guitars in shops, etc.

I am a newbie to this site. And though I have been playing for a while, I am certainly a newbie when it comes to assessing guitars - materials, quality, value.

Late Thursday night, with my fingers in pain from pushing on my steel strings, I looked around on the internet and stumbled across a Zager on ebay.

I had never heard of Zagers, but intrigued by the easy-play, no-pain notion, I read Zager's site (in detail), and read consumer reviews on this site as well as on some others. Almost all the Zager owners seemed thrilled. I read some reviews that verified that his money-back guaranty really is honored. Feeling like I had done my diligence, I ordered one (not the modified Martin, a Zager-branded Zager, which is supposedly better). Yes, I bought into the hype.

Friday, I looked into this discussion forum and, for the first time, saw a Zager thread. Wow. . . . You guys just about had me in tears.

I had not been a member, and had not previously searched within the threads, just the reviews. Never had really occurred to me to look within the discussions, as I was not a regular reader.