Tell me all the advantages of owning/playing a 12 string guitar

Abando

• Members

The 12-er possesses a depth, richness and fullness that simply can't be matched by a 6-er. It's often said that the 12-string is the grand piano of the guitar world. I agree with that assessment.

I started playing 12-ers at the grand old age of 11 and never found them to be more difficult to play than a 6-er.

• Members

Umm...it's a new guitar! What more do you need? lol...jk

I've never owned a 12 string--not even for a short time, but whenever I play them, I always like what I hear. A nice full sound, a little natural phase on the strings, a real nice shimmer. I would say it would be worth owning one just to have an extra sound in your arsenal. You never know when you'll come across a song that's just begging to be played on a 12 :).

• Members

Well, they aren't for everyone, IMO. The fretboards are dramatically wider and the second course puts that much more burden on fretting. Hand strength will improve which is a plus but fast fretwork is a biatch until hand strength and technique are matured. Keeping them in tune is also something of a pisser in contrast to a six but that becomes a normal expectation so the mindset becomes adjusted to it as well. Changing strings...see previous statement. So much for adapting to them.

Rewards? They sound frickin' marvelous. If you like Chris Proctor and/or Leo Kottke you will
need
a 12.

I tend to disagree with that. Like I said, I've been playing a 12-er since I was a kid and my hand strength wasn't anything great.

Yes, the wider fretboard takes some getting used to, but not much, IMO.

As for tuning and changing strings, tuning is not a PITA for me and changing strings is 40 minutes max for me.

• Members

I'm opposed to 12 strings. I don't buy the full sound bull{censored}. I can play octaves and find ways to fill sound all day long.