Slightly OT Craigslist score! NC(ello)D

datru

• Members

I just started learning cello and had been using a rental that was less than inspiring. I found this on C List:

attachment.php?attachmentid=347765&d=134

attachment.php?attachmentid=347764&d=134

It didn't have any strings on it, but did have a bridge. Solid carved top and back, not plywood. It was 200 bucks so I took a chance (even had a nice case). I put some strings on it and it sounds very nice, not a pro instrument but a very nice student one. I have a pro-cello player friend who came by and tried it out, he was very surprised by the sound and needless to say it sounded so much better than my ability.

I read so much online that said you have to spend at least a 1000 bucks for a decent student cello, and then read so much that said they don't hold value. I figured those two things had to culminate in a deal somewhere.

• Members

The bow is the standard cheap student level bow that you see around. It's in fine shape, though I would love to see what a nicer bow feels and sounds like.

Remember, though, I'm at the "Twinkle, Twinkle" stage of learning still. I really don't think you guys want to hear clips of that!

;)

• Members
The bow is the standard cheap student level bow that you see around. It's in fine shape, though I would love to see what a nicer bow feels and sounds like.

Remember, though, I'm at the "Twinkle, Twinkle" stage of learning still. I really don't think you guys want to hear clips of that!

;)

Check some decent bow prices and be prepared for sticker shock. Judging by the price, you'd think the bow hair comes from unicorns instead of horses.