4 questions:Snakes, Headphones, Condensers, and Recording drums by myself.

• Members

Greetings,

I am a solo artist, (guitarist by trade), and I have a decent sized project studio. a few quick questions:

1. I want a snake basically so I can increase the length of cable I have from my Project Mix i/o, to in front of my drum kit. That would be 8 XLR and 8 Line. I plan to connect the xlr from my guitar mics into it, or the xlr from drums. I would also like to be able to connect headphones to the end of it so i can monitor while I am tracking drums. My budget is about $200 for this.

2. Headphones! I have an old crappy pair I have been using for tracking, but it is time to move up. I need headphones that I can use to track guitar, vocals, and drums. I do not intend to mix with them, just to have better isolation so I can nail drum tracks. Budget here is about 200.

3. Condenser Mics! I am currently playing a 4 piece kit, and am close miking the snare with a 57, hi tom with a 57, floor with a 57, and kick with a beta 52. I need some overheads, what do you think would be the best bang for the buck in the $200 (per mic) range?

4. Since I am doing most of the work by myself, I would like to be able to control protools from a distance (namely behind the drum kit), what kind of solutions are available for this? I am guessing there is the possibility of bringing a monitor, key and mouse over there via some splitter, but what other alternatives are there?

you can hear some samples of my music at: www.myspace.com/mikemahalati

Regards

• Members

1. Markertek might sell things like these. I have a ProCo snake that I bought eons ago that works great for this kind of thing.

2. StudioKans work really great, isolate well, and sound good. They are also rugged, and have a 1/8" input so if you mistakenly step on the cord, it simply pulls out. If the cord goes bad, simply replace the cord.