Gripe of the day about MF's "Customer Service"

GAS Man

• Members

I work in the public sector (I know "boooo - boooo") but even in a business where we basically provide cash to needy people, we attend workshops on "Customer Service".

The only merit to my thread is that I've learned and believe one thing is paramount to good customer service

"Under Promise but Over Deliver"

It's pretty simple and you'll find that no matter what business you're in, it usually works. Don't promise something will be done sooner than what might happen, but then try to make it happen sooner than you promised.

So when I placed an order on July 24th and there was a message there cautioning me that "orders placed today will not ship until on or before August 3rd, I was not unhappy because they told me up front they were going to be slow due to their warehouse move. And I'm an understanding type of guy, right?

But when the didn't ship on or before August 3rd, 6th or 7th, that meant that they still OVER PROMISED and UNDER DELIVERED.

And when I called on August 3rd for a status report and was told that it might still go out that day or the next day (gee I didn't know they ship on Saturdays :freak:) that was just one more "OVER PROMISE".

And when they didn't answer my "order status" e-mail I sent them yesterday, that was just one more Under Deliver.

Plus, they never follow their, "orders received by 00:00 will most likely be shipped the same day" pledge. And when I ask them why they didn't ship the same day as promised, they always give me some line about waiting for bank payment. Isn't that odd? The Chinese restaurant next to my office can get a payment confirmation in under 20 seconds! :mad:

Anyway, that's just my vent for today and remember folks.

"Under Promise but Over Deliver" and the world will be a happy place. :love:

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members