Made a big switch: .10s to .09s

RJpilot

• Members

I have been using 10s for about 7 years and an old set of 9s laying around so I strung up my Kramer with em. What a huge difference. Much less effort to play, and my hands don't get tired quite as fast. I know most folks on this forum think that going down in string guage is sinful and others will say your not a real man unless you use .13s or heavier. :cop:

They can go scratch. My playing is much more expressive and i don't have to try as hard. And I can last longer.

I tune to Standard and Eb, and play mostly Classic Rock, Metal, Shred, and Alternative. (mostly distorted):cool:

More power to the 9s!!!:wave::thu:

• Members

I think the confusion stems from the acoustic guitar world where heavier strings produce more volume. On an electric, any difference in tone from one gauge to another is adjustable and correctable. I use 9's for everything except jazz. The jazz box has 11's but there isn't any string bending on that guitar.

• Members

I just started using the GHS Santana Signature Series in 9.5's. I have used 9's for years, but in the current setting in which I'm playing I need absolute tuning stability. I'm really impressed so far. I can still bend effortlessly, yet they seem to be more stable. Time will tell, but that's my initial impression. The high E is a 9.5 and the low E is a 43. It's a happy medium.

• Members

It's okay, you don't need to feel ashamed.

IfYouNeedAGreatBigHug.jpg

J/K

Yeah, it's said that Billy Gibbons and BB King have been known to play with 8-38 sets. (Never know fer sher how much to believe on internet reads though)