Seriously considering a cheap acoustic. Should I pass?

erok123

• Members

I have no experience with that guitar but if you believe the ad it must be pretty incredible. Obviously if you could play it yourself you could make up your own mind.

Remember that three things go into making a guitar cheap (or expensive) - the materials, the worksmanship, and the company behind it. Almost every bottom line budget guitar that I have encountered needed work to make it playable - can you do that (I charge 30 bucks an hour for my shop work, a complete setup might take three or four hours)? Inexpensive guitars tend to not sound very good, but again, your definition of "good" might be different than mine. If you are just going to play it amplified it might not matter much. And while Guitar Fetish has been around for a while (and sells a lot of electric stuff) can you count on them for warrenty service and support?

The nice thing about a cheap guitar is that if you don't like it you don't have much money invested - you can take it on camping trips and to parties and not worry about it.

• Members

I have no experience of that guitar either, sorry. But there are some quite good guitars around these days for very reasonable prices.

My most-played guitar cost less than 2/3rds that price new (I bought it used) so you could strike it lucky.

• Members

There are a lot of decent cheap guitars out there. As noted above, a setup will do wonders for a cheap guitar, but it also costs. You may be better off spending $250 on a better quality used piece that's already been set up (vs. $170 + setup).

My Yamaha FGX700SC was purchased used, setup, with a hardshell case for $225 and works great.

• Members