Nice quote by Daniel Lanois

Phait

• Members

"All artists have a code of ethics they're operating by, and that we're all driven by commitment. Commitment in itself is quite serious decision, you come up as a kid and decide to embrace music and its not something that one takes lightly, because it becomes a way of life and as performers we witness the raising of the spirit... you know, the capacity that music has to change the feeling of a room. so we cant help but be spiritual people"

• Members

He has a very spiritual outlook to music, and I think that it's quotes like this that make him so effective as a musician and producer. As a producer, he seem to always draw out inspired performances.

I've also had the pleasure of meeting him twice, and he seems to be gentle and super kind and spiritual but also kind of funny, with a real liking for the ladies.

• Members

I direct choirs for a living... most of the time I`m dealing with amateurs. But the one thing that relates across all levels of musicianship is the feeling that music can create so I always preach to my choirs, "feel the song before you sing the first note.... we are not here to sing notes, we are here to create feelings."

I think the same applies to records.

• Members

I actually don't understand how all the parts of that statement fit together--code of ethics, big decision not to be taken lightly, coming up, spiritual people. I mean, it seems to me self-flattering in as many as six different and only loosely related ways ;)

But yeah, while I am leery of the word spiritual to describe what "it" is, sure, Danny. I read you, babe.

• Members

As an agnostic I don't consider myself 'spiritual' but I am in awe of the power of music to change moods and create community. I don't think there is anything supernatural about it, but we are far from having a complete understanding of the ways music and sound impacts the mind and body.

• Members