Cheapest Gibson or Top Epiphone ?

SandroBoscaro

• Members

Hi guys,

I'm considering buying an electric guitar and I like the Les Paul sound and look.

I saw that there are now some Gibson Les Paul Studio (faded, worn, etc.) with a price very near to the one I could pay for one of the best Epiphone Les Paul so I'm wondering which is the best approach.

Some weeks ago I saw a demo by Dr. Epiphone, showing how

well built Epiphone Les Paul are and I was impressed, but you know, Gibson is always Gibson...

I'd like to hear some opinion as I'm not an expert about electric guitars (I played acoustic for many years, but rarely used an electric).

I did a search and found some infos, but the market is moving and there are always new models for both brands, so I'd like to have some opinion or comparison about the current state of the art for both brands.

Thanks in advance

• Replies 145
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

If by 'top Epiphone' you mean the Elitist Les Pauls, they are excellent MIJ guitars that have more features than the lowest-priced Gibson Les Pauls.

If you're talking about the Epiphone Tributes, 59 reissues, or Slash models, you should go with the Gibson. Those models are made in Korea or China and Epiphone is notoriously opaque about listing the correct specs on them. For instance, the Tribute and 59 are listed as having 'Gibson USA' pickups...but that doesn't necessarily mean 'Gibson made in the USA' pickups....

• Members

A good Epi isn't laminate (but a zoot suit Gibson is) so...

An Epi tribute or Masterbuit will have the full maple cap whereas a Gibby faded is all mahogany. Those will sound different. A regular Epi LP only has a maple veneer so it's more in line with the faded in terms of construction.

All the Epis except Masterbuilts and 59 Tributes use lesser pickups, hardware and such.

If your priority is looks and bling, the Epi gives you more for the money. If you're after better wood and guts, the Gibson wins.