Flipping Guitars: Worthwhile?

RMT05

• Members

Hi guys,

I'm currently a student in college. Been playing for the better part of a decade. But, as with probably 95% of all college students, I'm always looking for ways to make money to pay the rent and all that. Was wondering if buying/selling guitars would be worthwhile? I have money set aside that isn't doing anything that I want to invest in something. (Around 1k right now I can "invest" in guitars). Been looking around on Ebay/CL and local brick and mortar stores for the past month and a half or so, so this isn't just bathroom toilet idea I just thought of. Been doing a lot of research on the current market on certain guitars and what to look for when buying/selling in terms of the condition and how to talk the price down. I also helped run my family's business (making over 6 figures annually- the business not me lol) in high school so I know I have the business knowledge to accomplish this. (I don't feel like I'm just a typical student trying to make a quick buck.)

If I make even $50, thats still 5% which is about as much as a bank will give me. But, I won't have the luxury of having a new toy around to play while I try to sell it off.

What do you guys think about this? I'm already working multiple jobs. Just figure collecting in on an extra $50 - 100 might be nice every once and a while. (And having another axe :cool:) Not really trying to turn this into another job or anything. But maybe a little hobby that just happens to bring in some bread.

If I do go forth with this, what should be my line of approach? Was thinking about buying MIM Strats for around 200-250 sell for 300- 350. They have the "name" and if I clean em up a bit, I'm sure I can make them look nice enough to deal. Any other guitars that are good for making a $ on? What guitars have the quickest turnover?

Prob tons more questions to follow.

Thanks everyone!

• Members