Can you guys point me in the right direction in buying a LP?

RoboCop00

• Members

Since I started playing (10 years ago or so), I told myself I'd buy a Les Paul if/when I got through the first year of law school (always wanted to be a liar...*cough* lawyer). The time has come, the year was about as miserable as I could've imagined (did well, 3.7, yay...), and I want that damn Les Paul.

I've been out of the guitar-ogling loop for awhile now, and am not really familiar with the numerous LP models Gibson has out. Obviously, I'm going to play any guitar first before buying, but I am just trying to limit down my options. My price range is up to 2,400. I'm not interested in any of the P-90 models. I'd prefer binding and a thinner neck (I used to play a LP that belonged to a friend with a 50's neck and it was a bit too beefy). I'm looking for a tri-burst or iced tea finish, but that's not absolutely necessary. Should I be looking towards the Les Paul Standard Traditional Pro?

• Members

I just played through a bunch of Traditional Pro's. 90% of them were awesome. If you like the specs on that one, I'd say you've got a great chance of getting a good one.

There's just something special going on with that run that they're coming out really nice.

I really liked the 60's neck. I ended up with an SG limited run GC model. also 60's neck. Maybe there's a particular project manager or foreman on these GC exclusive guitars. I don't know - but they're really tone-ful and pretty consistent.

Can be had for $1800 ish out the door.

• Members

The Traditional Pro probably comes closest to what you want with the thinner neck, but the closest to the finish you want would be Vintage Burst. You should be able to pick up a new one for around $1650 or so with minimal haggling, so it is well within your price range.

The Standards are chambered and don't have the thinner neck profile. The Traditionals also have the 50s neck profile.

• Members