Playing leads

Guitarist+

• Members

I asked this same question a few months ago (except I've been playing rhytm for 30 years). :facepalm:

The answer was to learn some scales. Minor pentatonic first.

You can play a lot of solos with just five notes. I'm still learning, but at least I'm not afraid of playing beyond the first three frets anymore!

• Members

I've always told guys this. I doubt they ever listen but nevertheless...

Go listen to some old Bad Company records. They play all the classic riffs but slow enough for you to hear and pick out. Steal everyone you can and by then you'll not only have an excellent grasp of pentatonics but how to use them. Please don't be one of those guys that just play the notes of the scale like it's some kind of practice exercise. :(

• Members

Try playing lead to songs you like. It's fun and you will get good at it.

I agree with Burgess in learning licks, mixing them up and making them your own.

If you dedicate only 30 minutes a day to this, in 6 months you will be amazed how far it gets you.

If you have never done vibrato before, it's not easy to master. It's easier to use your wrist rather than finger. There are useful examples on youtube. To get mine working, I practiced 5 minutes a day for a couple of months before I was really getting places. Yep, a boring 5 minutes every day just working vibrato (different fingers though) .

• Members

A few suggestions, in no particular order:

1. Learn to play the melodies of songs. Just the melody. Guitar solos became popular because they can emulate the human voice. Start by doing just this. Then start embellishing the melody, rearranging the notes a bit, or adding some notes, etc.

2. Start with the minor pentatonic, and at first concentrate only on the first three or four strings. (Yes, you will of course eventually use all six strings, but the great majority of lead work is done on the first few strings, and setting aside a few strings simplifies things enormously.)