To Mod a Strat, or not???

Beckman

• Members

I have a 3-Time Sunburst. I have been wanting to mod it for quite some time. After all, what else do you do with a Strat?

My issue is, I don't only want to mod the pickguard, or pup covers, etc. I want to mod the body. Mostly, sand down the neck and refinish in tung oil. And, sand down the square heel more like the deluxe.

I don't plan to resell this, but you never know what the future holds. I have had the guitar for 4 or 5 years.

If I do these mods, and say I can sell if for $600 pre-mod, would my selling price drop to $500, $300? Would anyone even think of doing this?

Proof that I own it:

GuitarStuff026.jpg

• Members

There's no way of knowing.

Don't sand down the square heal. The holes in the neck won't line up.

I was planning on plugging the hole and drilling a new 4th hole. It is sounding like a bad idea as I typed this. I just guess I am a luthier in my head, and want to do all these things that I have never done. I really like the feel of the Tung oil necks though. That is not really changing shapes or anything.

Thanks for the input.

• Members

You say you don't want to ever sell it, yet your primary concerns seem to be around resale. I would be less concerned about sanding off the back of the neck than what you are thinking of doing with the heal. You do that, it's going to mess up the finish. Unless you really know what you're doing (and the questions you ask lead me to believe you don't) it will look like a hack job.

You might consider just getting another unfinished neck instead of sanding down and oiling yours. You would then have the original neck to put back on if you decide to sell, or you could sell it now to cover the cost of some of your mods.