Burnout

Belva

• Members

I'm new to this part of HC. I've been hangin' out mostly at DIY. I just started gigging again after a long hiatus in late Dec.of last year. I'm in a 3 piece band as the guitar player and we play weekends at local clubs. I've already reached critical mess. I've been sober now over 5 years and I just can't stand the drunks!! Anyone out there in a similar situation? I'd like to keep this going because my normal career field is dead right now. My only income aside from V.A. comp is fixing guitars and gigging.

• Members

I've been clean and sober for 31 years. Drunks don't bother me anymore. If anything, they provide me with a reminder of what I'd be if I drank again.

It took awhile, though. I quit playing when I got sober and didn't play again for a year and a half. When I did start again, I joined a road band and played 6 nights a week for 3+ years on the road. I went to AA meetings during the day in some of the towns we were in and kept in close contact with my sponsor. Over time, I got used to it, and have actually been able to steer some people into recovery. But it wasn't easy at first.

Maybe you just can't handle it. No shame in that. Do what you're comfortable with. Life's too short to do stuff you don't want to do if you don't have to, and it ain't worth risking your sobriety over if there's any chande it might.

• Members

I just hate it when the drunks all wanna put their filthy hands all over me.

Who knows where their hands have been in the bar?

Been sober for 14yrs now and everytime I get on stage I wonder which one of those guys I was out in the bar.

• Members

It has been an awakening. I see myself as I was 5 years ago. Probably is my higher power steering me into a spot that makes me wanna stay sober more.

The asshole who wanted to play my guitar last weekend made me cringe. I'm enjoying the band, but I have to get used to the drunks. Ten years ago I never thought I'd be saying that.

• Members