What do you do when you cannot sing? When the spirit is willing but the body refuses?

Notes_Norton

• Members

Normally I'm a healthy guy. I generally catch a mild cold every 5 years or so and that's about it. I haven't missed a gig since I started playing back in the 1960s.

I play in a duo, and last weekend the unthinkable happened. I got a cold with a little sore throat. So I gargled with salt water, sucked on zinc lozenges, drank plenty of warm fluids, upped my vitamin C, sucked on a "Fisherman's Friend", drank diluted lemon juice, and prepared to sing anyway. But even then my voice would not cooperate. It cracked, went into the 'yodel zone' and was basically unusable. I sang one song all weekend, played a lot of instrumentals, and my partner held up the weight of the vocals. I couldn't even sing background vocals -- silence sounded much better than what came out of my throat.

But still, there were songs that I know I should have sung, they would have been just right at the moment for the audience, but they were 'my songs'. Nothing against my partner's capabilities, she is the better singer in the duo and we did songs that were as close as we could to what the crowd needed. And most, if not all of the audience didn't know something was wrong. The dance floor was full, the people applauded, but I know we could have done a better job.

So my question is, what do you all do, especially single acts with no one else to lean on, when your voice goes AWOL?

Is there some kind of magic herbal preparation? Aunt Hilda's Home Healing Secrets?

Calling in sick is out of the question. The entertainment purchaser is depending on you for either profits or his/her party (try telling the bride that you are calling in sick and can't do her reception - then leave town -- forever ).