Supestrat for beginner - Schecter vs Ibanez

keloj

• Members

Hey guys!

I'm a beginner and I want to buy my first superstrat (I'm really into metal and grunge so I want to play that kind of music). I already play on acoustic guitar but it will by my first electric one. I'm happy to spend up to $1000 for a new guitar

I found this list of best supestrats and I'm thinking about getting Schecter Hellraiser C-1 or Ibanez RGA42HP. They seem to be very good and they look cool as well (which is also important to me). Which one of these would you choose and why? Or maybe you have other recommendations?

I will really appreciate your help - I feel like a complete idiot when it comes to electric guitars lol. 

• Moderators

A 'complete idiot' would not ask for help, so you are well over that bar.....lack of experience and specific knowledge is not a problem...it is a challenge.

Have you tried out any superstrats in person?

Reading 'a list' [although a lot would depend on who made that list] is a good starting point, but you need to get hands-on experience to know what guitar will feel right for you.

Do you have friends who have superstrats?  Is there a store that carries a selection near you?

I will not offer a specific opinion as to model, as, frankly, I am not a superstrat kind of guy...but from the list I would likely go with an Ibanez as your starter.

I will suggest you not spend too much on the guitar, as you are also going to need an amp, pedals, cables...

• Like 3

• Members

One has a trem, one doesn't - would you want to learn to use one or would you prefer a hard tail for extra tuning stability? The jackson looks good too.

Like Daddymack said, go to a store and try some, with a guitar-playing friend if possible for a second opinion & to help you manage any 'new guitar' eagerness. See what feels good in your hands and on your lap. Be aware it will be very different from playing an acoustic, if you didn't already know that.

• Like 2

• 1 month later...