Understanding Decibels

TrickyBoy

• Members

OK...

This might be a stupid question and sorry if it is, but I'm confused...

So, I've been a semi-professional guitarist, on and off, for 20 years, but I've never been much into understanding the technology. I've generally been a "sounds good enough" kind of guy. That has recently changed.....

Up until 2 months ago I was playing with a cheap Excaliber 12 Watt Amp (1x12 Combo) and a Line6 HDPOD500. Well I fell in love with the Z-Wreck and bought the head/2x12 cabinet 2 months ago, and I'm now in the process of finalizing an all analog boutique pedal board. And I have to admit, as much as I used to argue that tone wasn't that important, it's night and day how much better my tone is now...

Anyway, that's not the point of this post. I have a decibel meter, though if I can't pretend I understand what I'm measuring. I got it because I switch between two guitars and I wanted to make sure they were the same volume. And I've done a really good job at this. However, my quandary is this... I'd set the meter a couple feet from the speaker, and generally at "stage volume" it would read about 100 dB. Now that I've switched the the Z-Wreck, I got it out and when I got the tone I wanted, I expected it to be higher dB's. To my surprise, it's right about the same. But it sounds SO much louder. So I guess my question is "are dB's all equal?" Or does 2x12 vs 1x12 make the Z-Wreck seem louder? Or is there something else at play? Or is there more than just dB's that is involved with the overall volume that you hear?

• Members