Snap, Crackle, Pop, your guitar giving you static?

wankdeplank

• Members

This is something I originally thought was more an issue on budget type guitars. I've had a lot of experience with non-MIA Strats where generally just shielding the pickguard took care of the problem. Now I'm discovering that it is much more prevalent than I originally realized and particularly with Gibsons. Mine is a 2000 Custom Lite and though it's not really bad or problematic, I can create some static noise by just running my fretting hand up the fret board. Out of eleven electrics, I actually have three (including the Gibson) that have a small level of static electric charge occasionally. The other two are an old hot-rodded 60's vintage Harmony H-19 (only when I use the bigsby) and a 98 MIM Fender Squier Series Strat (think it's the bottom wrung GFS pickups). I know about the used static cling sheet thing and that's a good temporary solution. Like I say, my static issues are minor and totally controllable, but I'd hate to have a problem like this guy:

[video=youtube;snuY3h5wyuM]

or this guy:

[video=youtube;oig9lFEx2aU]

• Members

I know right? Unfortunately, I've discovered that with gain my Les Paul generates about the same amount of neck static as the second video. I don't remember having the problem to this extent before I installed the new pickups. I've read that covered (nickel plated) humbuckers (originally installed) control the noise better than open coil hummers do. The quandary is that I really like the sound of the new pickups but am annoyed by this extraneous noise. Incidentally, I bought the same pickups for my Hamer Special (awesome sound) and there is no static whatsoever coming from that guitar. I love the playability, tone etc. of my Gibson but why do they use a lacquer that produces static electricity? Of all the electrics in my stable, Gibson is the worst in the static department.

PS Sorry Gibson, longtime fan of your guitars otherwise.

• Members