ATTN Guitar Builders: Advice on refinishing a maple neck?

Dr. Scottie C

• Members

So I am a total newbie when it comes to refinishing......can anyone advise me on how I can take my neck from the Satin neck seen at the bottom of this picture, and turning it into the Tinted Glossy Neck at the top??? What products (brands/color) and tools would I need to make this happen?

Neck-finishes.jpg

• Members
Floyd- could tung create that same look as Tru?

I don't know enough about it, Scottie. Perhaps I shouldn't even recommend Tung oil as I've never used it on a neck. I did do a body in Tung and it's nice, and I did do a neck with Tru and it is nice expect when it is really humid out, then it gets pretty sticky and that will keep me from playing that guitar. You could always do a quick phone call to Warmoth. IIRC they recommend Tung for necks.

• Members

ReRanch has a lacquer for tinting necks. I have used it over a satin poly neck. Good for a light tint but if you apply too many coats it goes banana yellow pretty quickly. You can top coat it with gloss lacquer, but I used as-is for a satin finish. On a maple board,you have to tape off the frets or use a scotchbrite to carefully clean the frets afterward.

• Members

First find out what kind of finish you have on the neck. Put a drop of lacquer thinner on the back of the headstock where it would be covered by a tuner. If the finish softens it is nitrocellulose lacquer, if it doesn't it is some sort of a catalyzed polyurethane. If it is nitro your life is easy - you can spray additional tinted coats which will melt into the old finish, then color sand and buff. The best way is to use a small spray gun and mix some amber tint into the lacquer, spray until you get the color you want then spray a few clear coats over the top. Sand with each step from 800 grit wet and dry (wet) up to 2000, then buff with medium and fine compound.