A Serious Question About Creativity....

companyman

• Members

When I was in grad school, I had a professor (who has since become quite successful in the international Art market), tell me that dalliances in music would be detrimental to my development as a visual Artist. I always have that statement echoing around in my brain each time I pick up the guitar, I feel guilty. Any opinions?

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I had a professor who told me the same thing, almost gave up. But you know what? {censored} it... I kept at doing both.

I have been a designer for many years, got my MFA, had taught at college and never quit playing music...

• Members

I think he may have been trying to convey the message that sometimes a person can expend their creative energy on one outlet (music in his argument) instead of in other forms of art - and theoretically this could cause the other forms of art to not realize their full potential.

I personally don't buy into that because a person will express their creativity in whatever way feels best of most appropriate at the time. A person could just as easily say that if you don't express some of your creativity through music than your visual arts would suffer from having only one creative outlet.

Plus - John Dyer Baizley.

• Members

Creativity is a discipline- as long as your musical endeavors are a part of that discipline, rather than a "dalliance," there's no reason why your music should be detrimental to your visual arts work. That said, if you let your music become an excuse to not do your "serious" work then he could be right.

• Members

Creativity is a discipline- as long as your musical endeavors are a part of that discipline, rather than a "dalliance," there's no reason why your music should be detrimental to your visual arts work. That said, if you let your music become an excuse to not do your "serious" work then he could be right.

Well said.