Guitar jocks..

frenchji

• Members

Don't you hate them?

I studied music at a university and guitar was my instrument of choice. Of course all the guitar players had to stick together and we all became somewhat of friends. Mostly because we had to.. haha!

Anyway.. one of these dudes from day one has always been like.. "I freakin' rock at the guitar" attitude. He's into "shreddin'" the guitar cheesy 80's jazz infused crap. Only really sloppy. He's always picking on me because I use effects and he thinks they are "shortcuts." Keep in mind.. he has never heard me play a lick of anything in his life. Other day on facebook someone asked him if economy picking was worth learning on facebook. Mr. Sloppy guitar player told him that economy picking was a joke. I decided to comment back because I use the economy picking technique myself and I called him out on it.

His response was "if only you were as creative as me.. you'd see why economy picking sucks." I told him that wasn't a real reason and told him that no one likes a guitar jock and it comes off as pretentious.

He then replied saying that he is way more intelligent than me and I have no idea what pretentious even means. Then told me he is furthering his education and meeting with a dean of some college. Then he proceeded to tell me that I can't even play a blues pentatonic scale and I can't even pick right.

Finally about 20 comments and insults later he mentioned that economy picking will strain your hand. I called him out again.. and then about 20 people liked my comments then he unfriended me on facebook.

WWWWWTTTTTTTTTFFFFFFFFFFF?????!?

I know.. long post.. but I thought it was hilarious..

So give me your experiences with guitar jocks.. how do you deal with them? How do you convince people like that.. that effects aren't "shortcuts"

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members