What're some awesome songs to learn??

caseykey118

• Members

I'm just learning acoustic guitar...... ive been a electric guitar player for around 6 years and am buying an acoustic to go to college with (more chicks with an acoustic lol). Being an electric player i've become dilluted with power cords and snappy shredder type riffs..... pulling these off on acoustic is to me like walking a tightrope. What are some great songs to learn on acoustic??? name off your favorite fingerpicking/ strumming or whatever songs to play..... if they're to tough.... i'll move on. Thanks everything..... acoustic rocks!!!

• Members

Sounds like you're in it for the wrong reasons... but, if you want the chicks, and can sing, they all love "You and Me" by lifehouse. Something about that song gets 'em all riled up. ;)

I guess you just want to know some modern pop stuff to put tears in their eyes, so there's not much I can tell you other than listen to the radio and do chord searches...

• Members

I get the best compliments when I play "Here Without You" by 3 Doors Down, "Picture" by Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow (you have to change the lyrics if you want to sing both parts and not sound fruity) and "Turn the Page" by The Steve Miller Band. My wife also likes "Always On My Mind" by Willie Nelson even though she's not much of a country fan.

You'll probably laugh if you remember where this guy got famous (a short stint on 90210) but I actually liked some of his music. His name is Jamie Walters (Ray Pruit on the show) I can't stand his voice sometimes, its kind of the "pretty boy" type whispery voice, but I like his simple style of strumming and mixing in little riffs. Chicks dig the songs even if they don't remember where they heard them. Look up "Hold On" and "How Do You Talk to an Angel"....plus he played a sweet sunburst J200 on the show, he can't be all bad.

• Members

OK, here's my conquest list from college. WARNING: some tunes are dated:

Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd