C'mon, tell me about your nylon string guitars

flip333

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I had never even thought about getting one until I started listening to Leonard Cohen. I scoured Ebay for a while and found a B-stock Walden N560 for $85. I jumped on it. I loved it from the first strum and I am actually studying classical guitar now, but I love playing folk tunes with it. It's also the best playig guitar I own. And now I'm trying to get into the brazillian stuff that Stack posts all the time. IMO, Nylon strings are the best sounding guitars.

100_1879.jpg

100_1883.jpg

• Members

I had never even thought about getting one until I started listening to Leonard Cohen.

Leonard Cohen give me GAs for a nylon string.

I own a 100$ Kamouraska that I sold to bought a La Patrie Etude with Quantum electronics. If you give me the ultimatum to own only ONE guitar it will probably be a nylon strings.

I also read all Stackabones post to learn more about Bossa nova.

• Members

well dang thats a request for pics if I ever read one, and I love posting oics of my old Yamahas so...for those who`ve already seem em...look away...

I own a lot of these so I`m only going to post a few. On the right is my oldest, mid 50s from what I understand by the 4 digit serial number, the Dynamic series are all solid wood and have fatter necks than the true classicals Yamaha came out with early 60s. They don`t have truss rods but are so fat that none of mine...honestly...have any neck issues. They had a variety of models but most seem to have been maple/spruce...and the maple on some is outstanding. Maple has a bit of a rep as being bright...not these, they do not lack bass, I love em so much that my steel strings have taken a backseat for a while now. I don`t use picks and I find I can control the volume on the Dynamics from very low to very loud. Can`t recommend them enough...

forsaleIII131.jpg

forsaleIII127.jpg

forsaleIII223.jpg

forsaleIII126.jpg

• Members