which one to get morris or yamaha?

jcbakz

• Members

I've been having this Gear Acquisition Syndrome on an acoustic for a couple of months now.
i live in a small city and all instruments i owned are purchased online since we dont have good stuff here.
i have been playing guitars for over 14 years (mostly electric) and had owned a few acoustics but I was not serious on having a quality acoustic before. now that im near 30 years old music to me has change and im more dragged into the acoustic music.
my friend to whom I buy gears from him (online) has some acoustics but i cant decide which one to pick since both brands are great. im not familiar on acoustic guitars so my decision will be based on the responses in this thread.
the acoustics he has for sale are:
morris w15
morris md512
morris md505
morris f12II
yamaha fg425tbs
yamaha f360tbs
yamaha fg250
yamaha apx-4
all are imported in japan in pristine condition and only in that list i will purchase.
thanks!

• Members

It's really hard to go wrong w/ Yamaha...that's a company that really has got the acoustic-guitar-at-a-modest-price thing sewed up! Even their lam. topped models sound as good as many solid-topped instruments.

Morris can make nice examples, but I wouldn't buy one w/o playing it, first...Yammy, I'd have no reservations.

• Members

I'll be honest with ya.......I've never heard of a Morris guitar. I see Terry has, but that means nothing to me because Terry has heard of just about every guitar maker out there. Besides, if I've never heard of Morris, I gotta believe a lot of others have never heard of one either. Might be difficult to sell if the day ever came.

I'd buy one of the Yamahas. I own an FG730S and, for the money, it's one of the best guitars I've ever had.

• Members

I had never heard of Morris guitars either. Google turned up a bunch of stuff on them.