Today's foreign-made guitars vs. yesterday's USA-made guitars

evh1984

• Members

I have been saying something about guitars for a few years now and it seems like no one will even stop to think about it. It seems to me that we're living in prosperous times when it comes to being pontificates of the electric guitar. You can now get an Agile SA-whatever, etc. with a solid mahaogany body, P-90 pups, and Grover tuners for under $300. You can aslo get a Gibson Les Paul with a solid mahaogany body, P-90's, and fine ratio tuners for $1200. Yet no one is giving props to the Agile, etc. for being the exact same thing as the Les Paul.

I think it's more of a national pride thing to admit that today's "cheapie" foreign made guitars assembled from the same stuff as their US counterparts sound as good as the US made guitars. I know there are some quality control issues w/ some foreign made guitars, but usually they're minor. Awwww...sand your own frets!

I can't help but believe Chinese alder sounds the same as USA alder. I can't help believe that a Chinese maple neck sounds the same as a USA maple neck. I can't help but believe Chinese Gotoh tuners stay in tune for as long as USA made Gotoh tuners. I will give the USA made pickups the thumbs up, but the foreign pickups are easily and cost affordably replaced w/ Duncans or Dimarzios w/ the money you saved buying the Agile, etc.

I work for a Fortune-ranked US company that's been producing luxury goods and accessories for the past 65 years. In 2001 we went public and moved our factories to China. Many panned us and said we were selling out. Today we are the WORLD'S largest and most recognized name in luxury accessories. Guess what? Our quality has never waivered. The product we make today, sewn by Chinese sewing machines and stiched by Chinese thread is the same quality, if not better, than the hand sewn Made in the USA product we put out 25 years ago.