Does the "swimming pool" body routing affect the sound of the guitar in any way?

elsupermanny14

• Members

I'm curious if having that much open space in the body alters the sound in any way from a guitar with say a normal SSS routed body? Does it alter the resonance of the guitar maybe?

If you were to run a single bridge humbucker in a swimming pool routed guitar would (and how) would it sound different from a guitar that is routed for only one humbucker?

I have no knowledge on this issue. If you guys could shed some light that would be great!

• Members

Only an asshole would be able to tell the difference.

If you listen really closely to the upper mids of a strat with a swimming pool--right around 3 khz--you'll be able to hear a slight drop of about 1db. The Q value is very narrow. If you install stainless steel frets, it will compensate for some of the annoying loss of upper mids. If you really want to fix it, install the stainless steel frets, get a graph tech nut, a Callaham Titanium inertia block for your trem, Titanium bridge saddles, an Evidence Audio guitar lead, and a set of Tomastik Infeld Power Brights.

Of course all of this is going to cause the molecules of the wood inside the swimming pool rout to excite and realign themselves to a perfect north/south orientation (caused by the pickup magnets--duh!). You can measure the alignment using a simple electron microscope. Once the molecules have realigned, you are going to want to remove the stainless steel frets and the Calaham Titanium inertia block; otherwise you'll get a big bump in the 3 khz range. Also, deep six the graph tech nut and saddles and replace with natural bone (walrus tusk works best, but good luck finding it).

Best trem block for a swimming pool rout

http://www.longislandguitarparts.com/Tremolo_Parts-KTS_Titanium_Tremolo_Block_Vintage_Style_Tremolo.html

• Members