NAD!!! First tube amp!!

Grazzhoppa

• Members

hey guys i just picked this up off a guy from craigslist a few hours ago. i traded an alesis micron (that i paid 315 for) for it. i think i got a pretty good deal. its a marshall jcm 900 mark III 50 watt hi gain head. so here are my questions: anyone have a good (or at least passable) clean setting? can anyone recommend me some speakers? i think im gonna order a cab from avatar. i think it might need some new tubes and definitely some new pots as well. im a noob at this whole tube amp thing so if you guys could fill me in that would be great.

thanks!

ipod001.th.jpg

ipod002.th.jpg

ipod003.th.jpg

ipod004.jpg

w320.png

• Members

-don't run it without a speaker cab
-let it warm up for a minute or two before you flip the standby switch so that you have sound. When you turn it off hit the standby switch after the power switch so its in standby mode when you turn it on later. Don't let it sit around on standby forever, just turn it off.
-use a speaker cable not an instrument cable to connect the head to the speaker cab

Since I am not familiar with the amp's controls and can't see them in your photo- the basic method to getting a clean tone is running the master volume up and keeping the preamp volume down.

• Members

Ditto for mc5nrg's post.

And Congratulations! Cool amp for your first tube head.

It's a pain in the butt to change pots on that amp. Instead, get some isopropyl alcohol and apply some to the stem of each pot's shaft. Then rotate the shaft to both extremes repeatedly and it should move the gunk to the 0 and 10 possitions, cleaning up the pots for the rest of the range. Tubes are always fun to trade. Make sure to get a good speaker and cab.

Have fun!

• Members