Strat a good choice?

Joeballz

• Members

Im looking to buy a new Fender Strat. Ive wanted one for a while just not sure if its the right guitar for my music taste so help me out. Im still new to the guitar so i could use some advice. Im mainly in music like Van Halen, Nirvana, STP, Pearl Jam, Alice in chains etc and alot of metal maiden, priest etc. Would a strat or fat strat be a decent choice? help me out thanks.

• Members

I wouldn't consider any strat that doesn't have a HB in the bridge for your style of music. I have a start with a mini-demon in the bridge that actually does a pretty good job on that stuff but it isn't the ideal solution.

• Members

Im looking to buy a new Fender Strat. Ive wanted one for a while just not sure if its the right guitar for my music taste so help me out. Im still new to the guitar so i could use some advice. Im mainly in music like Van Halen, Nirvana, STP, Pearl Jam, Alice in chains etc and alot of metal maiden, priest etc. Would a strat or fat strat be a decent choice? help me out thanks.

I play in a band that covers: VH, Nirvana, STP, AIC, Metallica, JP and AC/DC among other things.

My #1 ax is an SRV sig strat.

I did mod it with a push/pull switch so I can turn the bridge on in series. The middle/bridge in series gives a pretty convincing humbucker tone, and run into a tubescreamer (or my new distortion pedal, son of hyde) and I can cover a lot of ground.

We also do a lot of less high gain stuff, so having all the other settings on a strat works out great.

I would recommend either an HSS strat, or a strat with the aforementioned mod.

Strats are workhorse guitars, I think you would be hard pressed to find a guitar that can cover more ground.

• Members

im uncertain about the tremolo for now.